It’s been a while since I last posted and there have been four new students added to my route. I have nine students that ride in the morning and seven ride the bus home.

It’s been a challenge dealing with the new personalities, with one of the little fellows a little hyper. One of the other new fellows seems like he wants to play around and my attendant had to correct them often.

The “NKOTB” that I posted about the last time has shown his true colors. It took him about two weeks for him to be accustomed to the others on the bus, and a few incidents to occur at the school, for him to show how much he has a nasty attitude and uses curse words. The bad thing about is, that he has a speech impediment and he cannot properly pronounce them! SMH!! Of course, his mother is notified everytime he does something.

It seems to me that some of these children lack self-control. If someone offends them, they automatically cop an attitude and when myself or my attendant try to mediate, all they do is mouth off. I’m sure there parents have to deal with that. Oh by the way, I finally have a girl!

I’ve been dealing with a bus that has a serious diesel fume issue. I know it’s having an effect on me. They seem to have nothing for me to drive that’s a decent replacement and it’s difficult every morning to have to walk around a huge lot to find a bus. I only have 30 minutes before I’m scheduled to leave to pick up my kids in the morning and most of that time can be taken up going through the process of looking for a bus. Sometimes I can’t even eat a little something before I start my day!

I’ve been also dealing with knee, shin, ankle, and foot pain from using the brake and gas petal on this bus. It’s taken it’s toll. I try all I can to stretch and to reposition myself so it won’t be so much of a strain. But, it still hurts. It doesn’t help that the bus is slow, so trying to merge into lanes where cars are going over 15 or 20 mph than you, causes me to press the gas pedal even more. I hope to get a new bus next year!!! (This bus has over 100k, BTW.)

Lastly, there is a “rumor” going around that because of budget cuts, the city is thinking about eliminating the 500 bus attendant positions. I don’t think they are, but if they do, I think that things will be a mess. Some of these children already have no respect for the attendants who are there (still fighting, disrespectful, etc.) They don’t fear anyone, even the police. To not have any help, will result in many foul incidents happening (and believe me, I’ve heard a lot of bad stuff happening on the buses between kids) and they’ll be a whole lot of incidents like the last post (where the driver was attacked by a student.) I know I cannot handle these kids by myself and since they are special education, that is another issue to deal with.

It’s got to be a law somewhere that says that there must be an aide (or attendant) on a special needs bus at all times. If anyone reading this can let me know, I’d appreciate it.

God Bless.

