Having worked at DCPS Transportation for many years, I’ve seen many people come and go. I’ve also noticed an attitude of “I’m going to do what I want to do, despite of what the superviors say or despite what the qualifications of my job are.”

I admit, I have struggled with going to work since my route was taken away. I know that I would be at the mercy of God and of the supervisor as to what I’d be doing, where I would be going and who I would be working with that day.

It’s super frustrating to walk around a huge bus lot, in the cold, trying to find a bus and the bus ending up parked in a place you least expected, as well as wondering where to go and if some of the kids on your list are riding or not riding (for some reason, the children who are not riding get left on the roster.)

I thank God for showing me His grace. A few of the times I had my attendant ride with me as well as decent routes. My supervisor has been praising me (a rare thing coming from her) for getting the kids to school on time. I thank God for the maps that are supplied to us so that we can get to these kids houses (even though sometimes they are inaccurate!) It could be worse. I have battled a few days with coming into work, and I’ve felt discouraged. But, I’ve perserved by the grace of God. It’s been tough and I still have a few more days until the bidding day. I just pray for strength at night and in the morning to face the daily grind.

Sometimes it’s hard for me to remember Ephesians 6:5-6

5 Bondservants, be obedient to those who are your masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in sincerity of heart, as to Christ; 6 not with eyeservice, as men-pleasers, but as bondservants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart, 7 with goodwill doing service, as to the Lord, and not to men, 8 knowing that whatever good anyone does, he will receive the same from the Lord, whether he is a slave or free.

I honestly admit that I have not been obedient with “sincerity of heart.” I’ve been dragging into work with a sad countenance. I’ve been feeling low because things are not the way I like. I’m not in control of what is going on (where I’m going, usually the same kids and places everyday.)

I’m not the type to like a change everyday, even though everyday is unpredictable. But despite this change that has occured, I still need to have in the forefront of my mind to “do the will of God from my heart.”  I know this job is the will of God for me now and I need to do my best “with goodwill” knowing “I’m serving the Lord and not men.”

I have to also remember that  if I do good, I will receive good from the Lord (v.8). It’s hard to remember this in the midst of a rowdy work environment where the co-workers disrespect each other and are looking out for themselves (and I admit I can flow in this attitude at times), it’s hard to remember. I pray the Lord will pierce my heart so I can remember this when I step foot in my job daily.

Also, I see a lot of my co-workers who barely do their job. Attendants that don’t get off the bus, don’t pay attention to the kids, leave children on their buses, because they are not paying attention and they are on the phone or sitting in the front of the bus talking to their driver. I see drivers that are on the cell phone (while driving), drive recklessly (even cutting me off while in the street) taking illegal turns, speeding in the parking lot and parking their buses carelessly, and above all are always complaining about money (they want more!) I wonder where this mentality comes from?

It’s aggrevating and disappointing to see. I pray that God will strengthen me and I will be more of a light there at my job. It’s extremely hard when I’m in the minority (and I don’t mean black because we are the majority! lol)

