The school year (’08-’09) started on August 25, 2008.  My school is a DC Public School in NE, DC. It’s an elementary school and my children this year are 8 years old and younger. They have multiple disabilities ranging from a physical handicap (one student has to walk with braces) to a facial disfigurement to autism. My attendants name is Mrs. J. and she knows her job and does it well.

So far, the school year is going well. It’s only been a week and the kids are responding pretty well to us. The younger ones ( there are two 4 year olds on my bus) have had tantrums, but they eventually calmed down and have been ok since those episodes.

I realize I have a special group this year. They are probably the most severly disabled group I’ve had. I pray for them daily and I pray that I would show God’s love and compassion to them.  I also want to assist my attendant in doing her job, so that we can continue to be a united front and that the children can see that we are they to help them and keep them safe.

Pray for me!

