Some people may wonder how I got my job, since it’s not a very popular one. I got my job when, after my mother passed away in 1997, a friend of hers that owns her own Temp. Agency met with myself and my sister and she offered us a job as a bus attendant.

Honestly, I didn’t know anything about this job. I came on the first day of work very ignorant and very scared. LOL When the job was explained to me on the first day, I remember feeling overwhelmed, because I had just graduated from high school over a year ago and working with children was not what I really wanted to do.  Then I realized these children had special needs…..I didn’t know what to do.  A bus attendant assists the bus driver in maintaining discipline and they supervise and help the children on and off the bus.

When I first started, I was blessed to have bus drivers who trained me well. They were gracious and helpful and showed me everything I needed to know to do my new job in the proper way. They even told me, “Not to make this job my career!” A few of them said this job was for “retired people.”

That was in October 1997 and this job is definitely not just for retired people! I started when I was 19 years old and now I’m 30. I didn’t know at the time that I’d be at the same job for 11 years. I had my own plans, but God’s planned prevailed.

A man’s heart plans his way, But the LORD directs his steps. Proverbs 16:9

